DUI in New York? An Ignition Interlock is Required to Drive
New York Drunk Driving Laws
Driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious offense no matter where you reside. It is important to understand the drunk driving laws in your state. According to WalletHub, when it comes to New York drunk driving laws, the state is the 29th strictest but has one of the lowest alcohol-impaired fatality rates in the country, as stated in the New York State FFY 2017 Highway Safety Annual Report.
The consequences of a first-time DUI in New York are jail time, license suspension, and fines. An ignition interlock device will also be required and installed in any vehicle owned or driven by an offender. If you get a DUI in New York and need an interlock device, you can trust RoadGuard Interlock.
What to Do After an Arrest for DUI in New York
If you have been arrested in New York for DUI/DWI as a first-time offender, you may be fined anywhere from $500-$1000, sentenced to one year of jail time, and receive a 6-month license suspension. The ignition interlock device must remain installed for a period determined by the court. The minimum interlock period in all cases is six months. Further infractions will compound these penalties.
Repeat offenses—meaning more than three convictions in 10 years—can result in a permanent revocation of your driving privileges. For example, a third DWI can cost you as much as $10,000, seven years in jail, and your driving privileges revoked for a year.
If this happens, you will need to wait at least five years before you can try to obtain a waiver, which will allow you to drive again. In addition, if a driver is convicted of aggravated DWI, aggravated vehicular assault, or other major offenses, it will be considered a Class D felony.
For any felony or misdemeanor DUI/DWI charge, you will most likely need to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed for at least one year. A restriction will also be added to your driver’s license stating that you are required to have the IID in any vehicle that you are driving. Both requirements (Leandra’s Law) went into effect on August 15, 2010.
Although some states allow up to 30 days to get the IID installed, you will only have 10 days to install the interlock device in New York. The sooner you get the ignition interlock installed, the sooner you will finish the device requirement period.
RoadGuard Interlock understands the time restrictions you face, and that it is crucial for you to maintain your driving privileges. We are here to help. We want to make this requirement as convenient as possible.
Installing and Using the Interlock Device
The installation of an IID will have to be done as soon as possible to avoid future troubles. Installation for the IID could take up to three hours, depending on the vehicle type. The device must be serviced every 30 to 60 days. The monthly cost of an ignition interlock device ranges, depending on your location. At RoadGuard Interlock, we believe that the cost of ignition interlocks should be affordable. Please contact us for the most up-to-date pricing.
Once installed, you will have everything you need to take to the DMV for your restricted license. We will explain how you should use the interlock device, go over troubleshooting, monthly service, and calibration. We will be with you every step of the way!
We Are Here to Help
If you would like more information about having your IID installed, we are here to help. Our ignition interlock devices are fast, accurate, and allow you to drive legally. Contact us to find an installation location near you. We will do the rest.
*Links to any third-party websites herein are provided for your reference and convenience only. RoadGuard Interlock did not create nor develop and does not own any such third-party websites. RoadGuard Interlock does not endorse nor support the content of, nor any opinions stated in any such third-party website links. RoadGuard Interlock is not responsible for the content of any third-party website or its accuracy or reliability. Nothing contained in this article or in any such third-party website shall be considered legal advice or be deemed to constitute legal advice. For any legal advice concerning a DUI arrest, charge, conviction, or consequences thereof, you should contact an attorney of your choice.