Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • New York ignition interlock device laws mandates ignition interlock devices for all drivers convicted of DUI.
  • An interlock device must be installed in any vehicle owned or driven by the offender.
  • It must remain installed from the end of the suspension period until the end of a period determined by the court.
  • The minimum interlock period in all cases is six months.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

DUI laws in New York state that a driver who registers a BAC of .08% or more during a field breathalyzer test or who refuses to take a test is subject to an immediate, automatic administrative license suspension.

If the suspension is not challenged successfully within 10 days, the suspension will remain in effect until the conclusion of the driver’s DUI court case.

Judicial Suspension

Upon conviction for DUI, an offender is subject to further license suspension.

The suspension period ranges from six months for first-time offenders to one year for second, third, and fourth offenses.

Upon a fifth conviction, offenders face a lifetime license revocation.

DUI Penalties and Fees in New York

1st Offense Fine: $500 to $1,000
Jail Time: Up to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 6 months
2nd Offense Fine: $1,000 to $5,000
Jail Time: 5 days to 4 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: $2,000 to $10,000
Jail Time: 10 days to 7 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
4th Offense Fine: $2,000 to $10,000
Jail Time: 10 days to 7 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install New York License Reinstatement

Source(s): N.Y. Veh. & Traf. §§ 1192, 1193, 1198
New York State Division of Criminal Justice: Ignition Interlock. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/opca/ignition.htm
New York Department of Motor Vehicles. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/penalties-alcohol-or-drug-related-violations

Last Updated: July 15, 2024

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.