DUI in Tennessee? Get Back on the Road with RoadGuard
When you’ve left a restaurant, bar, or party after having too much to drink, it doesn’t take much to get pulled over by a police officer on suspicion of drunk driving. If you are convicted of a DUI in Tennessee, you could find yourself without driving privileges. Unfortunately, you need to drive to live your life. With RoadGuard interlock, you can get back on the road a lot faster.
What Happens After a DUI in Tennessee
When you receive a DUI in Tennessee, your driver’s license may be revoked for one year or longer. The revocation period is dependent on how many previous DUI offenses you’ve had, as stated by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security. This can be devastating, especially if you are required to drive for work, to pick up your kids, or anything else.
Tennessee DUI Laws
Not being able to drive is probably not realistic for you: you may need to get to work or take your kids to school. The good news is, you have an option. Understanding Tennessee DUI laws will make it easier to know what to expect. You may experience several penalties, including:
- Jail time
- License suspension
Tennessee DUI laws will allow for an ignition interlock device (IID) to maintain driving privileges. However, there may be a minimum period of license revocation. If it is only your first suspension, you may have your license taken away for a year. However, you can choose to apply for limited driving privileges.
In Tennessee, ignition interlock laws require all DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device. This means if you plan on getting back on the road at all before the full license suspension is up, you will have to consider getting a device.
Get Back on the Road
By understanding the ignition interlock device program, you will know what needs to be done to get back behind the wheel.
If you plan on getting back on the road, a Tennessee DUI lawyer can help you navigate the various steps and complete all requirements.
You can have an ignition interlock that won’t allow you to start your vehicle until you conduct a test to determine your breath alcohol concentration (BrAC). If the BrAC exceeds the legal level, the ignition interlock device will prevent the vehicle from starting. Certified service centers must install the device within the state. At RoadGuard, we strive to provide affordable, transparent pricing that includes installation, reporting, maintenance, and service. You can expect that cost for your ignition interlock device will be under $150 for installation and $100 for monthly leasing.
Overall, it only takes a few hours to install the ignition interlock device, depending on the type of vehicle you have. When you’ve learned how to use the device and completed the paperwork, you are allowed to drive within the requirements agreed on by the courts.
If you need to get an ignition interlock in Tennessee, you can trust in RoadGuard. We want to help you get back in the driver’s seat as quickly as possible! Contact us today to learn more about Tennessee DUI laws and schedule your installation.
*Links to any third-party websites herein are provided for your reference and convenience only. RoadGuard did not create nor develop, and does not own, any such third-party websites. RoadGuard does not endorse nor support the content of, nor any opinions stated in, any such third-party website links. RoadGuard is not responsible for the content of any third-party website or its accuracy or reliability. Nothing contained in this article or in any such third-party website shall be considered legal advice or be deemed to constitute legal advice. For any legal advice concerning a DUI arrest, charge, conviction or consequences thereof, you should contact an