Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • New Mexico ignition interlock device laws require that all drivers who are convicted of DUI install an ignition interlock device in order to regain driving privileges.
  • The period during which the interlock device must remain installed varies depending on the conviction history of the offender.
  • Drivers with four or more convictions must have the interlock device installed for life, with
    the opportunity for a review of their case by the court every five years.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

DUI laws in New Mexico state that any driver who is stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence is required to submit to a field breathalyzer test.

If the driver refuses to take the test or registers a BAC of .08% or more, he or she will face an immediate administrative license suspension.

If the suspension is not successfully challenged within 10 days, the suspension will remain in effect for 21 months.

Judicial Suspension

Upon conviction for DUI, offenders are subject to additional court-ordered license suspensions that are separate from the administrative suspension.

DUI Penalties and Fees in New Mexico

1st Offense Fine: Up to $500
Jail Time: Up to 90 days
Period of License Suspension: 6 months to 1 year
2nd Offense Fine: $500 to $1,000
Jail Time: 96 hours to 364 days
Period of License Suspension: 2 years
3rd Offense Fine: $750 – $1,000
Jail Time: 30 to 364 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 years
4th Offense Fine: Up to $5,000
Jail Time: 6 to 18 months
Period of License Suspension: Lifetime

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install New Mexico License Reinstatement

Source(s): N.M. Stat. § 66-8-102
New Mexico Motor Vehicles Division. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Drivers/DWI/pages/Interlock-Devices.aspx
Reference: New Mexico Department of Public Safety. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dps.state.nm.us/index.php/dwi-prevention/dwi-penalties/

Last Updated: November 21, 2023

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.