Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Washington ignition interlock device laws state that anyone convicted of DUI must install an interlock device in any vehicle that he or she operates. The length of time that the device must remain installed varies depending on the conviction history of the offender.
  • A first-time offender whose BAC was above .08% but under .15% at the time of arrest must use the device for at least one year following a 90-day suspension.
  • If a first-time offender’s BAC was .15% or higher, the suspension period is one year.
  • A second-time offender with a BAC under .15% faces suspension of one year and an interlock period of at least one year.
  • An offender may apply for an exemption for employer-owned vehicles not equipped with an interlock device, but the offender may only drive such a vehicle during work hours.
  • If second-time offender’s driver’s BAC was above .15%, the suspension is two years.
  • For third offenses, the interlock period is also at least one year, but suspensions are either three or four years, depending on BAC level.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

In Washington, a driver is subject to an automatic administrative license suspension if he or she is stopped for suspicion of DUI and registers a BAC of .08% or higher on a field breathalyzer test, or if he or she refuses to take such a test. The suspension ranges from 90 days to one year.

Judicial Suspension

Upon conviction for DUI, offenders face an additional court-ordered license suspension. All offenders are also subject to jail sentences according to DUI Laws in Washington.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Washington

1st Offense Fine: $865 to $5,000
Jail Time: 24 hours to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 90 days to 1 year
2nd Offense Fine: $1,120 to $5,000
Jail Time: 30 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 2 years to 900 days
3rd Offense Fine: $1,970 to $5,000
Jail Time: 90 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 3 to 4 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Washington License Reinstatement

Source(s): Wash. Rev. Code §§ 46.61.502, 46.20.385
Washington State Department of Licensing. Ignition Interlock Device (IID). Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dol.wa.gov/driverslicense/ignitioninterlock.html

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.