Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Utah is one of the few states that requires any driver convicted of DUI to install an interlock device in any vehicle he or she owns or operates.
  • A first-time offender over the age of 21 will generally be required to have the interlock device installed for a period of 18 months.
  • Drivers under the age of 21 will be required to drive with the device for three years according to Utah ignition interlock device laws.
  • Drivers with prior DUI convictions, those who refused a breathalyzer test at the time arrest,
    and those who have violated the terms of a prior ignition interlock device installation will also be required to keep the device for three years.
  • Drivers who are required to use an interlock device and who are caught driving a vehicle without a device installed face additional penalties, including jail time, fines, an additional one-year license suspension, and an additional three-year ignition interlock period.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

In Utah, any driver who is stopped for suspicion of DUI and who registers a BAC of .08% or higher faces an immediate confiscation of his or her license, which will be replaced with a 29-day temporary license. The driver’s vehicle may also be impounded at the time of arrest.

Judicial Suspension

After being convicted of DUI, an offender faces an additional license suspension according to DUI laws in Utah. All offenders are also subject to time in jail and court-imposed fines.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Utah

1st Offense Fine: $700 minimum
Jail Time: 48 hours minimum
Period of License Suspension: 120 days
2nd Offense Fine: $800 minimum
Jail Time: 240 hours minimum
Period of License Suspension: 2 years
3rd Offense Fine: $1,500 minimum
Jail Time: 1,500 hours minimum
Period of License Suspension: 2 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Utah License Reinstatement

Source(s): Utah Code §§ 41-6a-502, 41-6a-518
Utah Commission on Criminal & Juvenile Justice. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from https://justice.utah.gov/Sentencing/DUI/2012%20DUI%20Sentencing%20Matrix.pdf

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.