Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • South Carolina ignition interlock device laws require that all drivers with more than one DUI conviction install an interlock device in any vehicle that they own or operate.
  • First-time offenders with a BAC of .15% or greater are also required to install an ignition interlock device.
  • The period of time that the device must remain installed depends on the driver’s conviction history.
  • Drivers may also opt to install an interlock device in order to regain driving privileges during an administrative suspension.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

DUI laws in South Carolina state that a driver stopped for suspicion of DUI is subject to an immediate administrative license suspension if he or she registers a BAC of .08% or higher on a field breathalyzer test, or if he or she refuses to take a test.

Unless it is successfully challenged within 10 days of arrest, the suspension remains in effect for six months

Judicial Suspension

After conviction for DUI, offenders are subject to additional court-ordered suspensions ranging from six months for first-time offenders to two years for three-time offenders.

All offenders are also subject to jail terms and fines, and all penalties are more severe if the driver’s BAC was .10% or higher at the time of arrest.

DUI Penalties and Fees in South Carolina

1st Offense Fine: Up to $1,000
Jail Time: 48 hours to 90 days
Period of License Suspension: 6 months
2nd Offense Fine: Up to $6,500
Jail Time: 72 hours to 3 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: Up to $10,000
Jail Time: 60 days to 3 years
Period of License Suspension: 2 years
4th Offense Fine: Up to $25,000
Jail Time: 1 to 7 years
Period of License Suspension: Lifetime

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install South Carolina License Reinstatement

Source(s): S.C. Code Ann. §§ 56-5-2930, 56-5-2941
DUI Process.com: DUI Record Help Since 2003. South Carolina DUI Laws & Penalties. http://www.duiprocess.com/state/SC/duilaws.php
South Carolina Department of Probation, Parole, and Pardon Services. Ignition Interlock. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dppps.sc.gov/ignition_interlock.html

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.