Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • New Jersey ignition interlock device laws state that first-time DUI offenders are not automatically required to install an interlock device, but a court may require them to do so.
  • At the court’s discretion, a first-time offender may be required to drive with an interlock device for a period of six months to one year.
  • If the driver was convicted of driving with a BAC of .15% or greater, an ignition interlock device is mandatory and must remain in place for six months to a year after the end of the license suspension period, which ranges from seven months to a year.
  • Offenders convicted of DUI for the second time are required to install an interlock device during the court-ordered period of license suspension.
  • The device must remain in place for a period of one to three years after the end of the suspension period, which ranges from two to four years.
  • When the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the driver is not allowed to drive any vehicle that is not equipped with such a device.
  • Failure to install a device when it is ordered by the court can result in an additional year of license suspension.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

DUI laws in New Jersey state that drivers who are stopped for suspicion of DUI face an automatic, immediate administrative license suspension if they refuse to take a field breath test at the time of arrest or if they register a BAC of .08% or higher on that test.

Administrative suspension lasts for three months if not successfully challenged.

Driving with a BAC of .1% or greater may trigger a seven-month administrative suspension.

If the driver does not successfully challenge the suspension within 30 days, the suspension will remain in effect for 180 days.

Judicial Suspension

Drivers who are convicted in court of DUI face additional court-ordered license suspension.

DUI Penalties and Fees in New Jersey

1st Offense Fine: $250 to $500
Jail Time: Up to 30 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 months to 1 year
2nd Offense Fine: $500 to $1000
Jail Time: Up to 90 days
Period of License Suspension: 2 years
3rd Offense Fine: $1,000
Jail Time: Up to 180 days
Period of License Suspension: 10 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install New Jersey License Reinstatement

Source(s): N.J. Stat. § 39:4-50
State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission: Ignition Interlock Device. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.nj.gov/mvc/Violations/dui_Ignition.htm and http://www.nj.gov/mvc/Violations/dui.htm

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.