Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Nebraska ignition interlock device laws require that repeat DUI offenders must install an interlock device in order to reverse vehicle-immobilization requirements.
  • All offenders may apply for a device to have their driving privileges reinstated during periods of administrative license suspension.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

Under Nebraska DUI laws, drivers who are stopped for suspicion of DUI are required to take a field sobriety test. If the driver fails or refuses to take the test, he or she is subject to an immediate administrative license suspension of 90 days and vehicle immobilization.

Judicial Suspension

In addition to the administrative suspension, drivers who are convicted of DUI face a court-ordered license suspension.

First-time DUI offenders face jail time of seven to 60 days and a fine of up to $500, along with a license suspension of up to 60 days (1 year if BAC .15% or more).

Second-time offenders are subject to at least 30 days of jail time, a one-year license suspension, and up to eight months of vehicle immobilization.

Third offenses trigger jail sentences of 90 days to one year, license suspension of between two and 15 years, and vehicle immobilization.

Fourth offenses incur longer terms for all these penalties, and fifth offenses are charged as felonies with jail time up to 15 years, a 15-year license suspension, and a fine of up to $25,000.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Nebraska

1st Offense Fine: Up to $500
Jail Time: 7 to 60 days
Period of License Suspension: Up to 60 days
2nd Offense Fine: Up to $1,000
Jail Time: 30 days to 1 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: Up to $10,000
Jail Time: 90 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 2 to 15 years
4th Offense Fine: Up to $25,000
Jail Time: 180 days to 5 years
Period of License Suspension: 15 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Nebraska License Reinstatement

Source(s): Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-6,196, 60-6,211.05
DUI Process.com: DUI Record Help Since 2003. Nebraska DUI Laws and Penalties. http://www.duiprocess.com/state/NE/duilaws.php
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dmv.ne.gov/frd/interlock.html

Last Updated: November 21, 2023

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.