Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • DUI laws in Michigan state that any driver convicted of driving with a BAC of .08% or higher is subject to a mandatory license suspension of at least six months, even with a first offense.
  • After the imposition of the suspension, drivers may apply to have their driving privileges reinstated.
  • If the appeal is granted, the state may require that a driver whose BAC was between .08% and .17% at the time of arrest install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that he or she will drive.
  • If the driver’s BAC was .17% or greater, an interlock device is a mandatory condition for reinstatement.
  • In either case, the ignition interlock device must remain installed for a period of at least one year, and it must be monitored by authorities monthly according to Michigan ignition interlock device laws.
  • Habitual offenders who have two or more DUI convictions within a period of seven years, or three or more convictions with 10 years, will have their licenses revoked. After a minimum period of revocation, habitual offenders may apply for a restricted license as long as they agree to install an interlock device.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

Administrative Suspension: In Michigan, drivers who are stopped for suspicion of operating under the influence will face an automatic 6 month license suspension for .08 BAC or higher and a 1 year license suspension for a BAC of .17 or higher.

Judicial Suspension

Upon conviction for DUI, drivers face an additional court-ordered license suspension.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Michigan

1st Offense Fine: $100 to $500
Jail Time: Up to 93 days
Period of License Suspension: 30 days
2nd Offense Fine: $200 to $1,000
Jail Time: 5 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 1 year minimum
3rd Offense Fine: $500 to $5,000
Jail Time: 1 to 5 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year minimum

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Michigan License Reinstatement

Source(s): Mich. Comp. Laws § 257.625
State of Michigan, Secretary of State: Alcohol Related Offenses Require Ignition Interlock. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.mi.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-1627_8665_9070-21501–,00.html
State of Michigan, Secretary of State: Substance Abuse and Driving. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,4670,7-127-1627_8665_9070-24488–,00.html

Last Updated: November 21, 2023

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.