Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Louisiana ignition interlock device laws state that all repeat DUI offenders are required to install an interlock device as a condition of license reinstatement or to regain limited driving privileges in order to go to and from work.

Ignition Interlock devices are also required for:

  • First-time offenders with a BAC of 2.0% or greater,
  • Drivers who refuse to take a chemical test for intoxication,
  • Drivers who are arrested with a child in the vehicle, or
  • Intoxicated drivers involved in an accident that resulted in injury

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

Louisiana DUI laws, a driver stopped for suspicion of DUI must submit to a field breathalyzer test. If the driver refuses or fails this test, he or she is subject to an immediate license suspension.

The arresting officer will issue a 30-day temporary driving permit, and the driver has 15 days to challenge the suspension.

If the challenge is not pursued or is unsuccessful, the license suspension will last for six months.

Judicial Suspension

Upon conviction for DUI, an offender is subject to a court-ordered license suspension in addition to the automatic administrative suspension.

The term of a court-ordered suspension is up to 90 days for a first offense, one year for a second offense, and two years for a third or fourth offense.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Louisiana

1st Offense Fine: $300 to $1000
Jail Time: 10 days to 6 months
Period of License Suspension: Up to 90 days
2nd Offense Fine: $750 to $1000
Jail Time: 30 days to 6 months
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: Up to $2,000
Jail Time: 1 to 5 years
Period of License Suspension: 2 years
4th Offense Fine: Up to $5,000
Jail Time: Up to 30 years
Period of License Suspension: 2 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Louisiana License Reinstatement

Source(s): La. Stat. § 14:98, 14:98.1, 15:306
Louisiana Department of Public Safety Office of Motor Vehicles. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from http://dpsweb.dps.louisiana.gov/omv1.nsf/58c968bd569b099986256cdc000806eb/b5c9dfff3b852fe386256d7b0063f0e9?OpenDocument

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.