DUI Laws in Idaho
Get a Quote Now
By submitting this form, you agree and consent for RoadGuard Interlock and its affiliates to use automated technology, including emails, calls, texts, and prerecorded messages, to contact you at the information provided. No purchase necessary; message and data rates may apply.
Ignition Interlock Device Laws
- In Idaho, the legal limit for driving under the influence is .08%. A driver with a BAC of .08 or above is considered to be impaired and may be charged with misdemeanor DUI. Repeat offenders with extremely high BACs of 2.0% or higher may be charged with a felony DUI, as may offenders who are arrested for DUI three or more times within a ten-year period.
- Ignition interlock device laws state that first-time DUI offenders in Idaho may apply for a restricted license if they voluntarily install an ignition interlock device on all vehicles they drive.
- Repeat offenders are not eligible and must serve their suspensions with no driving privileges at all.
In Idaho DUI laws, a driver faces license suspension if he or she is stopped for suspicion of DUI. The license suspension is automatic if the driver refuses to take a field breathalyzer test or fails to pass such a test.
In this case, the driver is issued a 7-day temporary driving permit by the arresting officer, and during that time, the driver may challenge the suspension.
If the driver doesn’t challenge or if the challenge fails, the suspension remains in effect for three months.
Drivers convicted in court of DUI also face a court-ordered license suspension that is distinct from the automatic administrative suspension.
Court-ordered suspensions range from 90 to 180 days for first-time offenders.
Second-time offenders face a one-year suspension.
Third-time offenders may have their licenses suspended for up to five years.
DUI Penalties and Fees in Idaho
|1st Offense (misdemeanor)||Fine: Up to $1,000
Jail Time: Up to 6 months
Period of License Suspension: 90 to 180 days
|2nd Offense (misdemeanor)||Fine: Up to $2,000
Jail Time: 10 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
|3rd Offense (felony)||Fine: Up to $5,000
Jail Time: 30 days to 5 years
Period of License Suspension: Up to 5 years
Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated
Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license backSchedule Install Idaho License Reinstatement
Source(s): Idaho Code §§ 18-8004, 18-8008
Reference: Idaho State Police. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from http://www.isp.idaho.gov/isp/citizen/inc/documents/DUI-English.pdf
Last Updated: November 13, 2019
This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.