Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Hawaii’s ignition interlock device laws do not require offenders to install an ignition interlock device, but many offenders are eligible to regain restricted driving privileges by requesting the installation of the interlock device in any vehicle they operate.
  • Offenders may request to be included in the interlock device program by applying for a restricted license after serving at least 30 days of any administrative or court-ordered license suspension.
  • Offenders are personally responsible for all costs associated with installing and maintaining the ignition interlock device.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

In Hawaii, drivers stopped for suspicion of DUI will face an automatic license suspension if they refuse to take or fail a field breathalyzer test.

In this case, the arresting officer will issue a 14-day driving permit, and the driver may challenge the suspension during those 14 days.

The DUI laws state that if the driver chooses not to challenge, or if the challenge is unsuccessful, the license will be suspended automatically for 90 days.

Judicial Suspension

Upon conviction of DUI by a criminal court, the offender is subject to additional license suspension unrelated to the automatic administrative suspension.

Court-ordered suspensions range from three months to a year for first-time offenders and from one to five years for repeat offenders.

Drivers convicted of four or more DUIs face a lifetime license revocation.

All offenders may also face fines and time in jail.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Hawaii

1st Offense Fine: $150 to $1,000
Jail Time: 48 hours to 5 days
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
2nd Offense Fine: $500 to $1,500
Jail Time: 5 days to 30 days
Period of License Suspension: 18 months to 2 years
3rd Offense Fine: $500 to $2,500
Jail Time: 10 to 30 days
Period of License Suspension: 2 years
4th (and subsequent) Offense Fine: At the discretion of the court
Jail Time: Up to 5 years
Period of License Suspension: 5 to 10 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Hawaii License Reinstatement

Source(s): Haw. Rev. Stat. § 291E-61

DMV.org: The DMV Made Simple. DUI & DWI in Hawaii. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from http://www.dmv.org/hi-hawaii/automotive-law/dui.php

State of Hawaii Department of Transportation. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from http://hidot.hawaii.gov/ignitioninterlock/

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.