Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • The Georgia ignition interlock device laws state that repeat DUI offenders are required to install an interlock device on any vehicle they operate, and the device must stay in place for at least 12 months after limited driving privileges are reinstated.
  • First-time offenders may request an ignition interlock device in order to regain driving privileges after at least 30 days of license suspension have been served.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

The Georgia DUI laws state that anyone who is stopped for suspicion of DUI is subject to an automatic license suspension if he or she refuses to take or fails a field breathalyzer test.

In this case, the arresting officer will issue a 10-day driving permit, and while the permit is in effect, the driver can schedule a hearing to challenge the suspension.

If the driver does not schedule a hearing, or if a challenge is unsuccessful, the suspension will remain in effect for one year.

Judicial Suspension

If the driver is convicted of DUI by a criminal court or enters a plea agreement in court, he or she is subject to an additional suspension that is separate from the automatic suspension that was initiated at the time of arrest.

The court-ordered suspension can range from one year to five years, depending on conviction history or other factors.

First-time offenders may face a suspension of less than a year.

All offenders are also subject to fines and jail time

DUI Penalties and Fees in Georgia

1st Offense Fine: $300 to $1,000
Jail Time: Up to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: Up to 1 year
2nd Offense Fine: $600 to $1,000
Jail Time: 48 hours to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 3 years
3rd Offense Fine: $1,000 to $5,000
Jail Time: 15 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 5 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Georgia License Reinstatement

Fuente(s): Ga. Code §§ 40-6-391, 40-5-64.1
Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety: Georgia’s Impaired Driving Laws & Penalties. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from http://www.gohs.state.ga.us/heatlaws.html

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.