Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • According to Ohio ignition interlock device laws, the court may order, at its discretion, that a first-time DUI offender install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle he or she drives. For repeat offenders, installation of an interlock device is mandatory.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

DUI laws in Ohio state that a driver is considered to be operating a vehicle while impaired (OVI) if he or she has a BAC of .08% or higher while driving.

If a driver tests above this level at the time of arrest or refuses to take a field breathalyzer test, he or she is subject to an immediate administrative license suspension.

The suspension will last from 90 days to five years, depending on the circumstances.

Judicial Suspension

After conviction for OVI, an offender is subject to a court-ordered suspension that is distinct from the administrative suspension.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Ohio

1st Offense Fine: $250 to $1,000
Jail Time: 3 days to 6 months
Period of License Suspension: 6 months to 3 years
2nd Offense Fine: $300 to $1,500
Jail Time: 10 days minimum
Period of License Suspension: 1 to 5 years
3rd Offense Fine: $800 to $10,000
Jail Time: 30 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 3 years to permanent license suspension

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Ohio License Reinstatement

Source(s): Ohio Rev. Code §§ 4511.9, 4510.13, 4510.022
DMV.org: The DMV Made Simple. DUI & DWI in Ohio. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dmv.org/oh-ohio/automotive-law/dui.php

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.