Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • North Dakota does not mandate the installation of interlock devices for any DUI offenders, but under North Dakota ignition interlock device laws any offender may be required to install and maintain a device at the discretion of the court.

License Suspension

DUI laws in North Dakota state that a driver may be charged with DUI if he or she is found to have a BAC of .08% or greater while operating a vehicle. If convicted of DUI, a driver faces mandatory license suspension and fines.

For a first-time offender whose BAC was below .16% at the time of arrest, the license suspension period is 91 days.

If a first-time offender’s BAC was above .16%, a 2-day jail term is added to the suspension, and the fine is increased from $500 to $750.

For second-time offenders, the suspension lasts one year.

For three-or-more-time offenders, the suspension period is three years.

DUI Penalties and Fees in North Dakota

1st Offense Fine: $500 to $750
Jail Time: None
Period of License Suspension: 91 to 180 days
2nd Offense Fine: $600 to $1,000
Jail Time: 10 days
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: $2,000 minimum
Jail Time: 120 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 years
4th Offense Fine: $2,000 minimum
Jail Time: 180 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install North Dakota License Reinstatement

Source(s): N.D. Cent. Code §§ 39-08-01, 39-06.1-11
North Dakota Department of Transportation. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/safety/penaltiesdrinkingdriving.htm

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.