Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • North Carolina ignition interlock device laws state that interlock devices are required for all repeat offenders of DUI, as well as for those whose BAC was .15% or higher at the time of arrest.
  • The period during which the interlock device must remain installed begins at the end of the license suspension period.
  • The ignition interlock period lasts from one to seven years, depending on the driver’s conviction history.
  • The age of the driver and any injuries or accidents that occurred during the DUI can have an effect on the penalties imposed.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

According to DUI laws in North Carolina, drivers who are stopped by an officer who suspects that they are impaired are required to take a field breathalyzer test.

If the driver registers a BAC of .08% or more or does not agree to take the test, the officer will issue an immediate license suspension.

If the driver does not successfully contest the suspension within 30 days, the driver will have restricted driving privileges that are limited to trips to and from work or school.

Judicial Suspension

After conviction of DUI, offenders will be subjected to additional suspensions that are separate from the automatic administrative suspension.

These court-ordered suspensions range from one year for first-time offenders and one to four years for second-time offenders.

Three or more DUI convictions trigger a lifetime license revocation.

DUI Penalties and Fees in North Carolina

1st Offense Fine: $200 to $4,000
Jail Time: 1 day to 2 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
2nd Offense Fine: $2,000 to $4,000
Jail Time: 7 days to 2 years
Period of License Suspension: 1 to 4 years
3rd Offense Fine: $2,000 to $4,000
Jail Time: 7 days to 2 years
Period of License Suspension: Lifetime
4th Offense Fine: Determined by court
Jail Time: 1 to 5 years
Period of License Suspension: Lifetime

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install North Carolina License Reinstatement

Source(s): N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-138.1, 20-179.3
North Carolina General Assembly. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.ncleg.net/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bysection/chapter_20/gs_20-17.8.html
North Carolina Department of Public Safety. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from https://www.ncdps.gov/Our-Organization/Law-Enforcement/State-Highway-Patrol/FAQ/Driving-While-Impaired

Last Updated: December 14, 2020

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.