Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • In order to regain driving privileges under Maine ignition interlock device laws, DUI offenders may request an interlock device to regain driving privileges after serving part of their license suspension period.
  • A first-time offender may request an ignition interlock device after serving 30 days of suspension; the device must remain installed for the rest of the suspension period.
  • A second-time offender may apply for a device after serving nine months of a three-year suspension; the device must remain in place for two years.
  • A three-time offender may request a device after serving three years of suspension; the device must be installed for three years.
  • An offender with four or more convictions may request a device after four years of suspension, and the device must be installed for four years.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

Maine DUI laws state that drivers are subject to an immediate administrative license suspension when they are stopped for suspicion of OUI if they refuse or fail a field breathalyzer test.

Immediate suspension of one year for drivers under 21.

Judicial Suspension

In addition to the administrative suspension, convicted offenders are subject to court-ordered suspensions of up to 90 days for first offenses, three years for second offenses, six years for third offenses, and eight years for four or more offenses.

Penalties vary depending on aggravating factors and/or one’s refusal to take a breathalyzer/blood test. Aggravating factors include a BAC of .15 percent or more, or traveling 30 MPH or more over the speed limit, or attempting to elude an officer of the law, or having a passenger under 21 years of age. The law requires an additional 275 day suspension be imposed by the court or the Secretary of State if transporting a passenger under 21.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Maine

1st Offense Fine: $500 to $600
Jail Time: 0 to 96 hours
Period of License Suspension: 150 to 275 days
2nd Offense Fine: $700 to $ 900
Jail Time: 7 to 12 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 years
3rd Offense Fine: $1,100 to $1,400
Jail Time: 30 to 40 days
Period of License Suspension: 6 years
4th & Subsequent Offenses Fine: $2,100 to $2,500
Jail Time: 6 months to 6 months & 20 days
Period of License Suspension: 8 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Maine License Reinstatement

Source(s): Me. Stat. tit. 29-A, §§ 2411, 2508
Maine Department of Public Safety: Bureau of Highway Safety. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.maine.gov/dps/bhs/impaired-driving/laws.html

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.