DUI Laws in Connecticut
Get a Quote Now
By submitting this form, you agree and consent for RoadGuard Interlock and its affiliates to use automated technology, including emails, calls, texts, and prerecorded messages, to contact you at the information provided. No purchase necessary; message and data rates may apply.
DUI Penalties and Fees in Connecticut
|1st Offense||Fine: $500 to $1,000
Jail Time: 2 days to 6 months
Period of License Suspension: 45 days followed by 1 year with an ignition interlock
|2nd Offense||Fine: $1,000 to $4,000
Jail Time: 120 days to 2 years
Period of License Suspension: 45 days, followed by three years of driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock, with operation for the first year limited to travel to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, or ignition interlock service center.
|3rd Offense||Fine: $2,000 to $8,000
Jail Time: 1 to 3 years
Period of License Suspension: Permanent (the offender is eligible for reinstatement after two years. If reinstated, he or she must drive only interlock-equipped vehicles for as long as the offender drives, except that the commissioner may lift this requirement after 15 years, for good cause).
Source(s): Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-227a
OLR Research Report: Connecticut DUI Law. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from https://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/rpt/2012-R-0279.htm
Last Updated: November 13, 2019
This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.