Ignition Interlock Laws

In Colorado, there are two different classifications of impaired driving under the DUI laws, which are determined by the BAC of the driver.

  • A driver with a BAC between .05% and .08% is considered to be Driving While Ability is Impaired (DWAI).
  • A driver with a BAC greater than .08% is considered to be Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
    Colorado drivers with licenses suspended because of DUI or DWAI may apply to have their licenses reinstated after 1-2 months of suspension. The reinstatement is contingent upon the driver’s agreement to install ignition interlock devices in all vehicles that he or she owns, co-owns, or operates.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

Drivers charged with DUI face an automatic and immediate suspension of their license. The automatic suspension is administered by the Colorado Department of Revenue. Repeat DWAI offenders also face automatic suspension.

Judicial Suspension

In most cases, Colorado ignition interlock laws state that convicted drivers will be subject to a period of license suspension after which they may apply for a restricted license which allows them to drive under the control of an ignition interlock device. The length of both the suspension and restriction periods depends on the conviction history of the driver.

First-time offenders face a six-month suspension and a five-month restriction period.

Four-time offenders are subject to a four-year suspension and may apply for a restricted license after 18 months.

Some DUI offenses, especially those involving an accident or injury to another person, may be charged as a felony rather than a misdemeanor. In these cases, suspension and restriction penalties are more severe.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Colorado

DWAI Fine: $200 – $500
Jail Time: 2 to 180 days
Period of License Suspension: None
1st DUI Offense Fine: $600 – $1,000
Jail Time: 5 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 9 months
2nd DUI or DWAI Offense Fine: $600 – $1,500
Jail Time: 10 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 12 months
3rd DUI or DWAI Offense Fine: $600 – $1,500
Jail Time: 60 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 24 months
4th DUI or DWAI Offense
(Class 4 Felony)​​​​​​​
Jail Time: 2 to 6 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Colorado License Reinstatement

Office of Legislative Legal Services, Colorado Drunk Driving Laws. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from http://tornado.state.co.us/gov_dir/leg_dir/olls/PDF/COLORADO%20DRUNK%20DRIVING%20LAWS.pdf

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.