Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • In Arkansas, all drivers who are convicted of DUI, no matter their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or conviction history, are required to install and use ignition interlock devices on their cars.

License Suspension

When you are arrested for DUI in Arkansas, your license can be suspended in two different ways. Each suspension must be satisfied in order to regain your driving privileges.

Administrative Suspension

Under Arkansas DUI law, license suspension is immediate when a driver suspected of DUI either fails a field breathalyzer test or refuses to take one. In this case, the arresting officer will confiscate the driver’s license and issue a temporary license that allows driving privileges for 30 days. During those 30 days, the driver may challenge the suspension.

Judicial Suspension

In the event of a conviction, the court will impose a license suspension term. First-time offenders will be subject to a 120-day suspension. Second offenses trigger a suspension of up to 24 months, and third offenses are subject to a suspension of up to 30 months. In both cases, drivers may drive with an ignition interlock after a year. In the case of four or more offenses, drivers are subject to a complete license revocation of four years, and third and subsequent offenses are considered to be felony offenses.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Arkansas

1st Offense Fine: $150 to $1,000
Jail Time: 1 day to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 120 days
2nd Offense Fine: $400 to $3,000
Jail Time: 7 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: Up to 24 months
3rd Offense Fine: $900 to $5,000
Jail Time: 90 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 30 months
Subsequent Offenses Fine: Up to $5,000
Jail Time: 1 to 6 years
Period of License Suspension: 4 years revocation

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Arkansas License Reinstatement

Arkansas Department of Health. Retrieved April 10, 2017 from https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/rules/IgnitionInterlock.pdf

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.