Ignition Interlock Device Laws

  • Alaska DUI laws require all drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence, regardless of BAC or prior convictions, to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that they own or that is registered in their name. Drivers are responsible for paying all costs associated with the installation and maintenance of the ignition interlock device.

License Suspension

Under Alaska ignition interlock device laws, upon conviction for driving under the influence, drivers are subject to license suspension, during which they may only drive vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device. The term of the suspension depends on the number of previous convictions for DUI.

For first offense DUI in Alaska, an offender faces a suspension of at least 90 days in addition to any fines or jail time imposed. A driver convicted of four or more DUIs faces a license suspension of at least five years.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Alaska

1st Offense Fine: ≥$1,500
Jail Time: 20 days minimum
Period of License Suspension: 90 days minimum
2nd Offense Fine: ≥$3,000
Jail Time: 20 days minimum
Period of License Suspension: 1 year minimum
3rd Offense Fine: $4,000 to $10,000
Jail Time: 60 to 120 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 years minimum
4th Offenses Fine: $5,000 to $10,000
Jail Time: 90 to 120 days
Period of License Suspension: 5 years minimum

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, here’s how to get your license back

Schedule Install Alaska License Reinstatement

Source(s): Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles; Alaska Stat. §§ 28.15.181, 28.35.030

Last Updated: November 13, 2019

This information was obtained from third party sites and is for informational purposes only. Although RoadGuard attempts to keep in the information up to date, it is provided "as-is" and RoadGuard disclaims all warranties, express and implied, including but not limited to its accuracy and completeness. Any reliance on this information is at your sole risk. The information is not intended as legal advice and should not be relied on as such. If you need advice concerning the State’s requirements or your personal obligations please consult with your monitoring authority, attorney or local court.